Other aspects

In 2006 the Phytomedicine Programme was evaluated by the National Research Foundation as one of the 29 developed research niche areas in South Africa with funding guaranteed to 2011.

We have been invited to join a consortium of 8 different countries in Europe in an application to the European Union Framework 7 programme on a project to replace antibiotic feed additives used in animal production with plant extracts.  Application was not successful. 

The Programme leader has received the following awards

·                Bronze medal from the International Horticultural Society in recognition of organizing the World Conference on Medicinal and Aromatic Plants (WOCMAP IV in 2008)

·                Gold medal of the South African Academy for Science and Art for Scientific and Technological Achievement 2009

·                First award as Outstanding Scientific Achiever in Faculty of Veterinary Science in 2010 

·                National Science and Technology Forum Eskom award for Research Capacity Development in all scientific disciplines in South Africa from the Minister of Science and Technology in 2012.  This included a R100 000 grant for research support

·                Gold medal highest award the from the Academy for Science of South Africa (ASSAf) for contribution of “Science for Society” in South Africa 2012

·                Gold medal, highest award the from the South African Association of Botanists January 2013

·                Listed as the 6th most cited African scientist in all fields by Thomson Reuters in 2013.

Dr Lyndy McGaw

·                Awarded “Best Paper Presentation” (Indigenous Plant Use Forum, Clanwilliam 2004).

·                Finalist in 2005 Department of Science and Technology “Women in Science” awards (category Best Emerging Young Woman Scientist).

·                Won one of “Best Poster Presentation” awards at the PharmaTox conference, Buffelspoort 2007.

·                Awarded Travel Grants from different conference organizing committees to attend six international conferences, and the “Risk Assessment Summer School” in Germany in 2007.


·                Awarded “Young Researcher of the Year (non-teaching staff)” prize at Faculty Day 2009, Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Pretoria.

·                Invited to become one of only 30 founding members of South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS)

.          Listed as one of top 31 cited African researchers in Pharmacology and Toxicology by Thomson Reuters in 2013




Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences