Research Accolades

Faculty Day 2022 (23 and 24 August 2022)

Congratulations to the following persons for their participation in various fields during Faculty Day.

  • Ms H Parkar that won the first prize, in the Emerging Academic Category.
  • Prof W Cordier that won the second prize for the Advanced Academics Category.
    • Mr D Chetty that received the 3rd overall prize for an e-poster as part of the Honours Degree students.
    • Prof W Cordier that acted as the Programme Director.
    • Dr S Mathijs and staff.
  • BSc (Hon)students for the Clinical Research Unit (CRU)

SASBCP (October 2022)

Congratulations to all the winners (Supervisors and co-authors) of the respective categories:

  • Poster Merit Award: Ms H Parkar - Enhancement of wound healing by acellular dermal scaffold alternatives in secondary intent wounds - Supervisors and co-author - Prof V Steenkamp, Prof D Cromarty and Ms S Mlambo-Bekoun Adja
  • First Prize Best Poster (Basic): Ms J de Carvalho - Development and validation of an in vitro model of the blood brain barrier - Supervisors Dr M Balmith and Dr B FlepisiI van den Bou
  • Shared Second Prize Best Poster (Basic): Mr D Chetty and Ms S Mlambo-Bekoun Adja - Respectively - An in vitro investigation on the effects of an oestradiol derivative, C16 in breast cancer cells - Supervisors - Dr B Flepisi, Dr M Balmith and Prof A Mercier
  • Comparative analysis of glycated and non-growth factor AB on the proliferation and glycated platelet derived migration of fibroblasts - Co-authors Ms H Parkar, Mr PG Monama, and Prof D Cromarty
  • Third Prize Best Poster (Basic): Ms Priyanka Sook - An in vitro investigation of the effects of glioblastoma and breast cancer conditioned media on the permeability of the blood brain barrier - Supervisor and co-author - Dr M Balmith, Dr B Flepisiand Ms X Mokoena
  • Second Prize Best Podium (Clinical): Ms Christie Megaw - Dieticians' knowledge and perceptions of food and factors affecting it - Supervisors -N Olivier, Prof W Cordier
  • Second Prize Best Podium (Basic Track): Ms Xolisilie Mokoena - Effects of glioblastoma cells on brain endothelial cell growth, migration, permeability, and tight junction proteins in vitro. - Supervisors - Dr M Balmith, Dr B Flepisi
  • Social Award: Mr Keith Ncube 

SACCMA (October 2022)

  • Best student oral presentation – Mr K Ncube - Characterization of BT-20-triple-negative breast cancer spheroid models cultivated under dynamic and static conditions - Supervisor: Prof W Cordier
  • Best flask talk – Ms C de Moura - Cytotoxicity of EGTA, verapamil, CHC and doxorubicin in BT-20 triple negative breast carcinoma spheroids - Supervisors: Prof W Cordier, Dr J Serem, Mr K Ncube.


Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences