Message from the Head of Department  

The Department of Odontology is the largest department in the School of Dentistry. It consists of five Divisions: Basic Restorative Dentistry (Head: Dr Riaan Lombard), Endodontics (Head: Dr Nichola Warren), Dental Materials (Head: Dr Paul Brandt), Paedodontics (Acting Head: Dr N Potgieter) and Curricular Matters (Head: Dr Vinesh Bookhan).

We teach and train students in a number of bread-and-butter aspects i.e. areas where dentists in private dentistry spend most of their time. Therefore we have a major responsibility to continue to produce worldclass students in these areas. Our staff members are welltrained to teach students the newest knowledge, and to supervise them in the clinical wards – guiding them to use the most modern techniques in the world of dentistry. Our special Curricular Division ensures that we follow current, innovative teaching methods, and that our curricula are in line with the best dental practice internationally.

Staff members of this department are actively involved in various aspects of Dental Research (see research projects elsewhere).

Our dental staff members are all involved in service rendering to the community, and spend many hours working on patients. We are proud to contribute to the dental health (and thereby also the general health) of our population.

This department is a fully racially-integrated entity, and we are proud to be part of the Rainbow Nation. We reject any form of racial or sexual discrimination, and we always strive for excellence.


"Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world."

Nelson Mandela



Published by Ilana Middleton

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences