History of the Department of Maxillo-facial and Oral Surgery    

  • The first Head of the Division of Oral and Dental Surgery in the Faculty of Dentistry was appointed in 1952: Dr Harry Goldin (Maxillo-facial and Oral Surgeon).
  • The Department of Maxillo-facial and Oral Surgery was established on 18 June 1959.
  • Professor Philip Snijman was appointed first Head of this Department on 1 January 1961. He was later appointed as Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry in 1973.
  • Professor Desiré Fourie was appointed Head of the Department in 1973 and in 1975 Professor Jan Duvenage was appointed her successor.
  • As from 1 October 1984, Professor Kurt-W Bütow resumed the position of Head and Chief Specialist of the Department of Maxillo-facial and Oral Surgery, University of Pretoria.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences