Members of Committee

Members attached to the University of Pretoria

Prof CW van Staden

MBChB; MMed(Psych)(cum laude); MD; FCPsych(SA); FTCL; UPLM

Prof T Rossouw

Co-Chairperson MBChB(cum laude); MPhil(Applied Ethics); MPH(Biostatistics and Epidemiology); DPhil; PhD

Prof A Nienaber

Deputy Chairperson BA(Hons); LLB; LLM; LLD; Dipl Datametrics

Dr R Sommers

Deputy Chairperson MBChB; MMed(Int); MPharmMed; PhD(Health Ethics)

Prof C Kotze

Deputy Chairperson MBChB; MMed(Psych); PhD; FCPsych(SA); DMH(SA)

Prof S Adam

MBChB; MMed(O&G); PhD; FCOG (SA); Cert Mat Fetal Med(SA); PGCHE; PGDip HPE and Leadership

Dr ANJD Alberts

MBChB; MMed(Anaesthesiology); MPhil(Applied Ethics); FCA(SA)

Dr MA Ambele

MSc(Biochem); PhD

Dr LH Bösenberg

MBChB; MMed(Int)(cum laude); Cert Crit Care SA(Phys); PDipSc Healthcare Simulation and Patient Safety; PGDip General Ultrasound

Dr CDV Castelyn

BTh; MDiv; PhD(Health Ethics)

Prof W Cordier


Dr AG Dlagnekova

BSocSci(Hons)(Psychology); MA(Clinical Psychology); PhD

Prof T W de Witt

MBChB; MMed(Paed); DTE

Dr CJ Filmalter

MCur; PhD

Dr B Flepisi

MSc; PhD

Prof GP Grobler

MBChB; MMed(Psych)(cum laude), PhD

Dr R Human-Baron

MSc(Anatomy); PhD

Prof CM Kgokolo

BPharm; MBChB; MMed(Derm); FCDerm(SA); PhD; PGDip(HSE)

Dr E Madela-Mntla

MCur(Psych); DCur(Psych); Dip Health Outcomes Research; Cert Ethical Issues in Clin Research; Adv Cert Health Management; SMDP

Dr S Ngcobo


Dr TT Nyakudya

MScMedicine(Physiology); MSc(Health Science Education); PhD; PG Dip Health Sc Education

Dr T Soul

MBChB; MMed(Med Forens); FCForPath(SA); DipForMed(SA)

Prof L Sykes

BSc; BDS; MDent(Pros); Diploma in Forensic Idol\Ontology

Dr A Turner

MBChB; MMed(Public Health Medicine); FCPHM; Dip HIV Man

Dr A Uys

BSc; BChD; MSc(Maxillo-facial and Oral Radiology); Dip Odont.

Dr W B  Van Zyl

MSc; PhD

Dr CT Viljoen

BPhysT; MSc(Physiotherapy); PhD

 Members NOT attached to the University of Pretoria

Rev S Bapela

Dipl Theology and Ministry

As stipulated by the Department of Health Guidelines (2015), a third of the number of members constitute as a quorum.

updated 25/08/2022

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences