About the Department of Haematology  

The Department of Haematology renders tertiary diagnostic as well as clinical services to the Pretoria Academic Hospital, Tshwane District Hospital, Kalafong Hospital and surrounding clinics. It consists of a core laboratory, specialised coagulation unit, bone marrow unit, flow cytometry unit and a research department. 

Clinical services are organised under the umbrella of the Department of Internal Medicine while diagnostic services fall within the ambit of the Tshwane Academic Division of the NHLS.

The academic department is located in the Institute of Pathology, Prinshof Campus, University of Pretoria. This location houses the offices of the pathologists, registrars, scientist and laboratory manager. Routine work done in this laboratory includes review of peripheral blood films and bone marrow aspirates, platelet aggregometry, haemoglobin electrophoresis and specialised haematology (e.g. Ham’s test and osmotic  fragility). 

The core laboratory is situated on the fifth level of the Steve Biko Academic Hospital. Tests done at this location include full blood counts with differential counts and examination of peripheral blood films, erythrocyte sedimentation rates and coagulation profiles.

Published by Marianna Kotze

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences