Accomplished and committed personnel inspired with passion and a positive attitude offers exceptional educational and research standards in management, leadership, communication skills, patient care as well as dental education.

The Department has ten fulltime staff members and part-time lecturing staff taking care of the academic offering of the Department as well as the patient care section of the Department.

Head of Department

Prof SE  (Sophy) van der Berg-Cloete

PhD (UP), PGDip (Exec Leadership)(UP),MBA(USB), PGDip (Comm Dent) (US), BChD (UWC)

Head:  Clinical Unit and Patient Management

Prof TC (Corné) Postma

BChD; DHSM; MChD (Community Dentistry); PhD (Pret.) SAFRI and TAU fellow


Dr IJ (Imade) Ayo-Yusuf

BDS (Benin); Dip.Odont.(Pret); PDD; MSc (Stell); PhD (Pret)

Dr L (Lorraine) Snyman

BChD (Pret); PDD (Stell); PDD; PGCHE (Pret); MBL (Unisa)

Dr DC (Cathy) Makobe

BDS (Medunsa); Diploma in Paedodontics (Pret)


Dr J (Jacqueline) Thompson

BChD (Pret);  PGDipDent; MSc (Dentistry)


Dr M (Mika'il) Essop

BChD (Pret) 



Dr P Maubane



Ms N (Nobesuthu) Mgabe

Dipl OH (WITS)















Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences