At present the radiological staff consists of a team of full-time consultants and 20 to 23 registrars. The Ultrasound Department, in addition to the consultant and registrars, is staffed with three full-time senior medical officers and three part-time/ sessional sonologists. The radiographic staff comprises 54 qualified radiographers and 70 student radiographers in training.


Head of Department

Prof. Zarina I. Lockhat, Professor, Chief Specialist


Dr Janet Smal, Clinical Head of Unit: MRI

Dr Elizabeth van der Walt, Clinical Head of Unit: CT

Adjunct Professor Samia Ahmad, Clinical Head of Unit, Angiography and Interventional Radiology
Dr NZ Makhanya, Clinical Head of Unit, special interest Paediatric Radiology
Dr FE Suleman, Clinical Head of Unit, special interest Musculoskeletal Radiology
Dr DC Thebe, Senior Specialist, special interest PET/CT
Dr F Ismail, Specialist (Research)
Dr L Davel, Specialist (General)

Dr F Joseph, Specialist (General)
Dr H Gongxeka, Specialist (General), special interest Paediatric Radiology
Adjunct Professor Nausheen Khan, Head of Department, Kalafong Hospital

Dr Irma van de Werke, Senior Specialist, Kalafong Hospital

Radiographic Staff
Mrs Sonja van Niekerk - Head of Department- Assistant Director

Mrs Erika Smith Assistant Director (Leave and Duty Roster)
Mrs A Lehmann Chief Radiographer - CT

Mrs Mariaan Telford Chief Radiographer - AOT & Cath Lab

Mrs Adele Bouwer Chief Radiographer - Level 4

Mrs Dawn Povey Chief Radiographer - Level 8

Mrs Anita du Plessis Chief Radiographer - MRI
Mr Edgar Bekeur Chief Radiographer - Level 6

Secretarial and Nursing Staff

Mrs Frieda Moorhouse Secretary

Mrs Sophia Fouché Senior Technical Assistant

CPN Mariaan Badenhorst Sister in Charge

Medical Officers and Registrars

Dr Daleen Swanepoel Principal Medical Officer, Head of Ultrasound Department
C Muller Registrar
T Matela Registrar
F Joseph Registrar
L Mmono Supernumerary Registrar
Y Naude Registrar
MNC Vilakazi Registrar
E Mpofu Registrar
L Stears Registrar
NC Sihlali Registrar
S Vedajallam Registrar
GF Jackson Registrar
A Chacko Registrar
GLI Mashilo Registrar
PH Henning Registrar
E Putter Registrar
A Mohamed Khan Registrar
Y Carrim Registrar
Z Lamla-Hillie Registrar
C Liebenberg Registrar
P Rabie Registrar
E Gous Registrar
E Lebelo Registrar
N Dada Senior Medical Officer Ultrasound
L Dippenaar Medical Officer Ultrasound
I Karruseit Session Ultrasound
MM Hattingh Session Ultrasound
J Pretorius Session Ultrasound


Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences