Academic Programmes as presented by the Department Jurisprudence


LLB Modules

The Department of Jurisprudence presents the following modules:

  • JUR 110 Jurisprudence 
  • JUR 120 Jurisprudence 
  • ROM 120 Roman Law 
  • JUR 310 Jurisprudence
  • AMR 410 Law and Transformation 
  • JUR 420 Jurisprudence
  • CLW 420 Law and the Community.

Click for more information on our undergraduate programmes.


LLM/MPhil Degrees

Course work

The Department offers two LLM/MPhil programmes

  • The history and philosophy of human rights
  • Post-apartheid jurisprudence
  • Global perspectives on law, rights and development.


LLD/PhD Degrees

Click for more information on our postgraduate programmes.

- Author Department of Jurisprudence
Published by Elzet Hurter

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences