New Chairperson of EASA from Faculty of Education

Posted on March 14, 2017


Dr Ruth Mampane from the Department of Educational Psychology was elected as the Chairperson of the Education Association of South Afri (EASA). The election took place at the annual conference hosted by North-West University (Potchefstroom Campus) in January. Dr Mampane succeed the outgoing Chairperson, Prof Dinah Magano of UNISA.

EASA is an ‘inclusive network of academics, researchers, and practitioners who prioritize education in South Africa, by means of active exchange and critique of hypotheses, theories, and practices’. Membership to EASA is open to all academics, researchers and educationists.

In 2015 the Executive Committee of EASA nominated Dr Mampane to the position of Council Member to represent EASA interests at the World Education Research Association (WERA) for the period of January 2016 until December 2018.

Dr Mampane’s Chairpersonship coincide with the revival and re-enactment of five Special Interests Groups (SIG). See EASA website at and an urgent call to actively and collaboratively engage, respond and find answers to high education reforms promulgated by national #feesmustfall movement. The urgency of #decolonisation and #africanisation of teaching and learning especially in higher education cannot be excluded from EASA agenda. The major responsibility of the Chairperson of EASA is to ensure that the 2018 January EASA conference which will be hosted by UKZN spearheaded by Prof Labby Ramrathan is successful and well attended.

- Author Annalize Brynard
Published by Marinda Scholtz

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2020. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share