Research Chairs

The Department of Economics hosts the following research chairs, in part or in full:
South African Reserve Bank Chair in Monetary Economics
The South African Reserve Bank Chair in Monetary Economics was instituted in 2007 to promote advanced teaching and research in Monetary Economics. In 2017 the agreement between the University of Pretoria and the South African Reserve Bank (SARB) was renewed and more emphasis was given to research promotion, research collaboration and supervision of student research at honours, master’s and PhD level.

Today, the Chair is working closely with the Research Department at the SARB to identify research themes relevant to national policy making, to organise annual national workshops on monetary economics and macroeconomic modelling, and to supervise student research.  The SARB Chair in Monetary Economics gives a positive and essential contribution to the country’s macroeconomic research and to the research foundations of policy making in South Africa. 
Published by Jesse Naidoo

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences