Academic Staff


Dr Chris Broodryk [email protected]

Chair of Drama & Programme Coordinator

Senior Lecturer: Drama and Film Studies, Screenwriting, Digital Media.
PhD in Film and Television Studies, University of Cape Town (2016)

MA Drama and Film Studies (2006), University of Pretoria

Additional qualifications: BA (Hons) Psychology, University of Pretoria (2010)


Prof Marie-Heleen Coetzee [email protected] 

Associate Professor & MA and PhD programme coordinator
DTech, Tshwane University of Technology

MTech, Tshwane University of Technology

Additional qualifications: SAFD Actor Combatant Certification (1994); Duelling Arts International Certification (1994); NIA White Belt Instructor (2004). 

Prof Marth Munro [email protected]

Extraordinary Professor 

NRF rated 2006-2011; 2013-2018.

PhD in Applied Linguistics, North-West University (2003)

MA in Drama, North-West University (1993)
Additional qualifications: Lessac Master Teacher, New York (2015); Certified Movement Analyst (CMA), New York (1994)

Specialisation: voice, theatre and pedagogy and performance research with a neurological component.

Mr David April [email protected]

Production Logistics Coordinator.  

Lecturer: Performing Arts Management

MA in Culture, Policy and Management, University of the Witwatersrand (2018)

Additional qualifications: Moving Into Dance (MID) diploma (1992)


Ms Lelia Bester [email protected]

Lecturer: Acting and Voice & Honours programme coordinator

MTech in Drama, Tshwane University of Technology (2012)

Additional qualifications: Certified Lessac Teacher; Neethling Brain Instrument (NBI) practitioner


Ms Kristina Johnstone [email protected]

Lecturer: Physical Theatre and Movement. 

Master of Music (Dance), University of Cape Town (2010)

Additional accomplishments: Standard Bank Ovation Award, PLASTIC (2013); Standard Bank Ovation Award, Keepsake Minus 3 (2012); Kyknet Fiesta Award for Best Dance/Physical Theatre, Keepsake Minus 3 (2013); Donald Gordon Creative Arts Award, Fractography (2010


Published by Chris Broodryk

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2021. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences