Financial Sciences achievers awarded

Posted on June 23, 2022

The 2022 Financial Sciences Annual Awards Function was held on 24 May 2022 in the TuksMonate, on the Hillcrest Campus of the University of Pretoria.

Awards were presented to 46 students in both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes from the four departments involved in the Financial Sciences degree, namely Taxation, Accounting, Financial Management and Auditing. Various sponsors presented their prizes to the prize winners.

Prof Madeleine Stiglingh, Head of the Department of Accounting, officially welcomed everyone and acknowledged all sponsors present.

Prof John Hall, Head of the Department of Financial Management, presented the Russel Loubser prize on behalf of Mr Loubser, to Ms Jessica du Toit, for being a student with a proven track record of excellent academic achievement and strong leadership ability.

The guest speaker, Mr Stephen Ntsoane of EY Africa, spoke about “purpose – a better you, a better us ultimately leading to a better world”, a very interesting and informative speech. 

Prof Annet Oguttu, Head of the Department of Taxation (which was responsible for organising the event), congratulated all the award recipients and thanked the academic staff within the Faculty for all the effort and hard work they have invested to ensure that the 2021 academic year was successfully completed.

The 2022 awards ceremony was sponsored by  EY (platinum sponsor), PwC (gold sponsor), 36One Asset Management, ACCA, AGSA, Ascor, Bain & Company, BIG, BDO South Africa, CIMA, CMV, Deloitte, Iridium Business Solutions, Greenpen Accounting, IIA (SA), IAEP Glenn Sumners, KPMG, LexisNexis, Momentum, Nexia SAB&T, Russel Loubser, SAIT, Sanlam Private Wealth, Tecex, The Boston Consulting Group, the Department of Financial Management and the Department of Taxation.

The Heads of Departments expressed their gratitude to the sponsors stating that the event would not have been possible without their support. 

PwC sponsors and prize winners

EY sponsors and prize winners

- Author Financial Sciences

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences