Financial Sciences Annual Awards Function

Posted on July 05, 2017

The Financial Sciences Annual Awards Function was held on 17 May 2017 in the Conference Hall of the University of Pretoria. Click here to view the list of winners.
Awards were presented to 49 students in both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes from the four departments involved in the Financial Sciences degree, namely Taxation, Accounting, Financial Management and Auditing. Various sponsors presented their prizes to the prize winners.
Prof Elsabé Loots, Dean of the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences, presented the Russel Loubser prize on behalf of Mr Loubser, to Emile Behrtel for a student with a proven track record of excellent academic achievement and strong leadership ability.
Financial Sciences Annual Awards Function – Russel Loubser Merit Prize Award, with Prof Johan Oberholster, Deputy Dean:  Teaching and Learning (far left), and Prof Elsabé Loots, EMS Dean, handing over the award to Mr Emile Behrtel.
The guest speaker, Mr Regardt Verster, spoke about his life experience. Through his story, he inspired the attendants to never give up on their dreams and aspirations. Despite a life-changing car accident, Mr Verster managed to complete his degree in BCom Business Management and is able to pursue his favourite sport, namely cricket.
Mr Regardt Vester’s inspiring presentation and speech.
Prof Loots congratulated all the award recipients and thanked academic staff within the Faculty for all the effort and hard work they have displayed to ensure that the 2016 academic year was successfully completed.
Financial Sciences would like to thank the following sponsors for making the evening possible: EY (platinum sponsor), PwC (gold sponsor), ACCA, AGSA, Ascor, BIG, BDO South Africa, CIMA, CMV, CQS, Deloitte, ENSafrica, Grant Thornton, IIA SA, IRESS, KPMG, LexisNexis, Mervitz & Malan, Momentum, SAB, SAIT, SekelaXabiso, IAEP UP Centre, the Department  of Financial Management and The Boston Consulting Group.
Ernst & Young sponsors and prize winners
PricewaterhouseCoopers sponsors and prize winners 
- Author Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences
Published by Gontse Mosese

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2020. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share