Research Centres and Units in SHSPH

UP Centre for Sustainable Malaria Control (UP CSMC)

The UP Centre for Sustainable Malaria Control is pioneering research on sustainable malaria control methods from the biochemical and the biological to the chemical and the physical   including how best to manage these methods at a trans-disciplinary level. Community education in malaria control is  addressed and backed by a commitment to changing behaviour in communities. Our team is also engaged in studies on the possible general and reproductive health effects associated with currently used insecticides for malaria vector control. Furthermore, we are using state-of-the-art cell phone technology to capture data on indoor residual spraying (IRS) in remote rural areas of Limpopo Province. Environmentally friendly ways of delivering chemicals for malaria prevention are among the new ideas being explored.

More information is available on the Centre's website or follow us on Facebook

Contact: Prof Tiaan de Jager (send e-mail) or Dr Taneshka Kruger (send e-mail)

Environmental Chemical Pollution and Health (ECPH) Research Unit

The Environmental Chemical Pollution and Health (ECPH) Research Unit was established through a collaborative partnership between the School of Health Systems and Public Health (SHSPH) and andrology in the Department of Urology in the Faculty of Health Sciences. The unit uses the EDC and toxicology laboratories. The andrology laboratory functions as a clinical- and research laboratory that investigates male reproductive health. The EDC component offers a comprehensive battery of bioassays for estrogenic and androgenic activity in environmental samples and specific chemicals.  The toxicology section is primarily a research laboratory to assess reproductive health in humans and wildlife. The unit conducts research on the occurrence, health effects and projected future impacts of chemicals, especially EDCs, on environmental pollution and health.

Contact: Dr Natalie Aneck-Hahn (send e-mail)

Click here to view all Centres, Units, Institutes and Chairs in the Faculty of Health Sciences



- Author Melanie Botha

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences