Honorary Membership

The South African Society for Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (SASBCP) wishes to recognise members who played a substantial role in the service of the society and the field of pharmacology as a whole, both locally and internationally, by awarding such a member with an honorary membership. 


  • Honorary membership is reserved for those individuals who have made a major contribution to the SA Pharmacology society, to Pharmacology as a discipline and to South Africa. To be considered for eligibility, the proposed honorary member should at the time of nomination be an active, fully paid-up member.
  • Honorary membership is limited to any member who have recently retired from his/her permanent full time employment in any pharmacology related instItution, practice or research facility. If a member is subsequently appointed as an extraordinary staff member, consultant or any similar affiliation to an institution, he/she may still be nominated

Nomination procedure

To nominate an individual for honorary membership, please see the following documents below:

The deadline for applications close on the 30th of August, and must be sent through to Dr 'Makhotso Lekhooa ([email protected]).

Important Dates
Conference Duration
5 October 2019 08:00 - 7 October 2019 16:00
1 April 2019 - 28 September 2019 [CLOSED]
Call For Abstracts
9 April 2019 - 30 July 2019
53rd Annual Conference of the South African Society for Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Werner Cordier
Contact Email
[email protected]
Contact Number
  • Clinical pharmacology
  • Communicable disease pharmacology
  • Drug discovery and development
  • Method development
  • Neuropharmacology
  • Non-communicable disease pharmacology
  • Pharmacology education
  • Regulatory pharmacology
  • Traditional medicines
  • Other
  • Late-breaking poster abstracts