About the Department

The Department of Procedural Law teaches in the disciplines that fall within the domain of the procedural (or formal) law.

Undergraduate courses offered in the department include Criminal and Civil Procedure, Law of Evidence, Legal Practice, Alternative Resolution, Conveyancing and Notarial Practice, Sports Law and Practical Law. The Department also takes academic responsibility for the practical training at the UP Law Clinic.

The Department offers five coursework LLM degrees. Prof Willem Gravett is the course leader for the module Advanced Law of Evidence (LOE 802), Prof Thino Bekker for the LLM module in Civil Litigation (CLG 801), Prof Wium de Villiers for Criminal Procedure Litigation (CCP 801) and Prof Rian Cloete (Head of the Department of Procedural Law) is responsible for Sports Law. Dr Rashri Baboolal-Frank is the course leader for the LLM modules in Alternative Dispute Resolution (LM104).

Prof Rian Cloete is the course leader for the Certificate in Sports Law and the UP School of Legal Practice, both offered through Enterprises, University of Pretoria. Dr Baboolal-Frank is the course leader for both the Certificate in Compliance Management and Court Annexed Mediation that are both online courses through Enterprises, University of Pretoria.

In addition to the permanent members, the Department of Procedural Law also relies on the expertise and experience of a number of external experts. Experts who have assisted in lecturing in the Department include Prof Danie van Loggerenberg SC, Advocate of the Pretoria Bar and editor of ‘Jones & Buckle: The Civil Practice of the Magistrates’ Courts in South Africa’; Dr Alexandre Miguel Mestre, Universidade Autonoma de Lisboa and Independent member of UEFA; and Advocate WC Gernandt, Prosecutorial Training Section, Department of Justice and Constitutional Development.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences