Staff: Steve Biko Academic Hospital

Head of Department:

Prof GR Tintinger (MBBCh; MMed (Int); PhD (Immunology) Pulmonologist


Prof JA Ker MBChB, MMed, MD (Pret), Pulmonologist

Principal Specialist/Senior Lecturer:

Prof S Visser – Pulmonologist (MBChB; MMed (Int Med); PhD (Imm))

Prof MMTM Ally - Rheumatologist (MBBCB (Wits), FCP(SA), Certificate in Rheumatology

Prof AC Stoltz – Infectious Diseases  (MBChB, MMed (Int) BSc (Hons, Biochemistry), MSc (Biochemistry), PhD (Immunology)

Dr MK Kgomo – Gastroenterologist - (MBChB, FCP (SA), Certificate in Gastroentrology (SA)

Dr AZ Muranda – Nephrologist MBcHB (Hons) Zimbabwe, FCP (SA), Certificate in Nephrology (SA)

Prof S Ellemdin (MBChB (Wits), MMed(Int) Pret, MSc (Clin Epi) Pret) – Fellow in Pulmonology


Specialist/Senior Lecturer:


Prof P Rheeder (MBChB; MMed, FCP(SA), MSc (Clin Epi), PhD) General Physician, Clinical Epidemiologist

Dr R Sommers (MBChB, MMed(Int),MPharmMed) Ethics committee coordinator

Dr E Elnagar – Gastroenterologist (MBChB (Sudan), FCP (SA), Certificate in Gastroenterlogy (SA)

Dr T Kemp - Endocrinologist (MBChB, MMed(Int) Pret, MSc (Clin Epi) Pret) Cert Endocrinology and Metabolism (SA)

Dr L Smith (MBChB, DoH&M, MMed (Int)) Fellow in Endocrinology

Dr N Pannell (MBChB, MMed(Int)) – Fellow in Pulmonology

Dr R Kalpee (MBChB,  MMed (Int)) Fellow in Rheumatology

Dr PJ. Viviers (MBChB, MMed (Int))  Fellow in Pulmonology

Dr V Ueckermann (MBChB(Pret), MMed(Int)) Fellow in Critical Care Medicine

Dr GJ Nagel (MBChB, MMed (Int)) – Fellow in Gastroenterology

Dr L Nel (MBChB, MMed (Int), FCP (SA)

Dr P Greeff (MBChB, MMed (Int), FCP (SA)

Dr L Kock (MBChB, MMed (Int) – Fellow in Infectious Diseases

Dr S Akerman – MBChB, MMed (Int), - Fellow in Endocrinology

Dr N Roche (MBChB, MMed (Int)) – Fellow in Nephrology


Medical Officers

Dr S Quinnton (MBChB, MSc (Clin Epi), Dip Date Metrix) – Chief Medical Officer

Dr S Sebastian (MBChB)



Dr Y Nyasulu (MBChB)

Dr G van Rooyen (MBChB)

Dr M Ramego (MBChB)

Dr C Maringa (MBChB)

Dr H Dannheimer (MBChB)

Dr J Mathibedi (MBChB)

Dr M Mathekga (MBChB)

Dr L Mdhungu (MBChB)

Dr S Khan (MBChB),

Dr C Pannel (MBChB)

Dr M Mensah (MBChB)

Dr S Mashoeshoe (MBChB)

Dr T Tiva (MBChB)

Dr H van der Laan (MBChB)

Dr S Sibeko (MBChB)

Dr S Mokoena (MBChB)

Dr P Ngwata (MBChB)

Dr D Joseph (MBChB)

Dr K Raphala (MBChB) – Tembisa Hospital appointment

Dr O Mwafongo (Supernumerary from University of Malawi)


Administrative personnel

Mev HS Els (Departmental Administrative Officer)

Me L Mnguni (Secretary to HOD)(Coordinator SIC)

Me S Maluleke (Coordinator MBChB IV medical students)

Me I Steyn (Secretary to Prof MMTM Ally)

Mrs N Koekemoer (Secretary to Dr MK Kgomo)

Me J van Wyk (Secretary to Prof AC Stoltz)


Staff: Kalafong Hospital

Head of Department



Prof JH Retief (MBChB, MMed (Int), MSc (Clin Epi)


Prof DG van Zyl (MbChB, Dip PEC, MMed (Int), FCP(SA), MSc (Clin Epi), PhD (Int)

Prof PF Levay (BSc(hons)(Physiology), MSc (Reproduct biol) MBChB, MMed (Int)

Dr GJ Nagel (MBChB, MMed (Int), DTG)

Dr MM Ribeiro (MBChB, MMed (Int), Cert Med Oncol)

Dr M de Villiers (MBChB, FCP (SA)

Dr S Bothma (MBChB (Wits), FCP(SA)

Prof DS Rossouw (MBChB, MMed (Int), D Phil, DBG, DTG, FRCP) Emeritus-professor

Dr J Hiesgen (Dr Med) Neurologist



Dr N Duvenhage (MBChB)

Dr BR Brits (MBChB)

Dr Y Bare (MBChB)

Dr KF Nyuswa (MBChB)

Dr L Wium (MBChB)

Dr MS Myburgh (MBChB)

Dr ML Kotu (MBChB)

Dr L Naidoo (MBChB)


Medical Officers

Dr SJ Human (MBChB, DTM&H, DCH, DHA, BA(hons)

Dr S Aung (MBChB)

Dr ME Shongwe (MBChB)

Dr H Swanepoel (MBChB)

Dr OA Odumosu (MBChB)



Dr L Schoeman (B Pharm, BA(hons) (Psy), PhD, Dip (International Research Ethics), Principal Medical Natural Scientist.


Administrative staff

Mrs C van Tonder

Me S Mothukwa





Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences