The mission and vision of the Department of Chemical Pathology is to be a leading academic department in Africa dedicated to achieving excellence in teaching and training, research and high quality diagnostic service delivery. 

The diagnostic laboratory service falls under the ambit of the National Health Laboratory Service. The Department of Chemical Pathology provides diagnostic pathology services to the Steve Biko Academic (SBAH), Tshwane District and Weskoppies hospitals and 60 clinics in the Pretoria region. In addition to providing after-hour laboratory services to Pretoria West and Mamelodi hospitals, referrals are received from private and NHLS laboratories nationwide. 

The laboratory performs approximately 1 million tests per year and has retained its status as a SANAS (South African National Accreditation System)-accredited laboratory since 2003.


Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences