Partner Institutions

Four countries participate to the Bakeng se Afrika project: South Africa, Belgium, France, Portugal. The consortium consists of three South African higher education institutions (University of Pretoria, Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University, Stellenbosch University), the South African Nuclear Energy Corporation, as well as four European institutions (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Université de Bordeaux, Universidade de Coimbra, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven).

Have a look at the interactive project map on the EU project card.


To learn more about each institution/organisation/laboratory, click on each logo below.

University of Pretoria
Forensic Anthropology Research Centre (FARC)
South Africa
Coordinating Institution
Prof Ericka N. L'Abbé

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University
Department of Anatomy and Histology
South Africa
Partner Institution
Prof Anna C. Oettlé

Stellenbosch University
Division of Clinical Anatomy, Biological Anthropology Research Unit (BARU)
South Africa
Partner Institution
Dr Mandi Alblas

South African Nuclear Energy Corporation
Radiation Science Department, Radiography and Tomography Group
South Africa
Partner Institution
Dr Lunga Bam

Université de Bordeaux and Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
UMR 5199 - From Prehistory to the Present: Culture, Environment and Anthropology (PACEA)
Partner Institutions
Dr Yann Heuzé

Universidade de Coimbra
Laboratory of Forensic Anthropology (LFA)
Partner Institution
Prof Eugénia Cunha

Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Processing Speech and Image (PSI) Centre
Partner Institution
Prof Dirk Vandermeulen


Published by Clarisa van der Merwe

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences