Extraordinary Appointments

Prof. Lindiwe Sibanda

Prof. Lindiwe Majele Sibanda is an animal scientist and a practising farmer with extensive experience, serving as a policy advisor to numerous African governments and global institutions. She was appointed to the CGIAR System Board in April 2021, and has served as the Chair since January 1, 2023.


She serves on the Nestlé Board and as Chair of the Council at the National University of Science and Technology in Zimbabwe and as Extra Ordinary Professor at the University of Pretoria, South Africa. She is an Associate Fellow at Chatham House, and member of Champions 12.3, accelerating progress on UN Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) target 12.3, halving global per capita food waste. In January 2023, she stepped down from the position of Professor, Director and Chair of the African Research Universities Alliance (ARUA) Centre of Excellence in Sustainable Food Systems at the University of Pretoria, in South Africa; and has stepped down from the Board of the World Vegetable Center (WorldVeg).


She has served in senior leadership positions in various organizations, including co-Chair of the Global Alliance for Climate-Smart Agriculture (GACSA), Vice-President, Country Support, Policy and Partnerships for the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA), and CEO and Head of Mission of the pan-African Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN).

Prof Donagh Berry


Director of Future Milk Centre TEAGASC

Prof Berry holds a PhD in Animal Genetics form Wagening University and has more than 400 peer reviewed publications.



Dr John P Goopy


University of New England

Prof Goopy holds a PhD in Animal Nutrition and livestock GHG mitigation from the University of New England, Australia.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences