Overview of undergraduate academic programmes

The academic teaching programmes strive to give the students not only a broad based knowledge of physics but to foster analytical and problem-solving skills. The undergraduate (BSc) course structure is a traditional one with a few courses (such as physics modelling using computer programming, and materials science) to prepare the students for the job market. In the first and third years, projects are offered to students to introduce them to real world physics and research.

The postgraduate BSc(Hons) course continues with this philosophy and introduces more speciality courses. The MSc and PhD are research based.

The Physics programme is structured in such a way that it is possible to take a wide variety of subjects as a second major subject (dual major programme). This also means that in some cases it is possible to combine third year physics modules with other degree programmes, such as Mathematics or Chemistry for example.


Bursaries and scholarships

Admission Information

Non-major Physics Courses

Undergraduate Physics Courses (Detail)

Undergraduate Physics Courses (List)

BSc (Physics) Structure

First-year Registrations









Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences