National Schools Moot Court Competitions (NSMCC)

Welcome to the 2020 National Schools Moot Court Competition


About the Competition

The first annual National Schools Moot Court Competition took place at the Constitutional Court in Johannesburg on National Human Rights Day, 21 March 2011. Teams from four schools in each of the nine provinces – a total of 72 learners - were selected to participate in this ground-breaking event. The second annual National Schools Moot Court Competition took place in April 2012. The third annual National Schools Moot Court Competition took place in August 2013 and the fourth in October 2014. 2020 marks the 10th edition of the Competition.

The South African Schools Moot is a joint initiative of the Department of Basic Education in partnership with the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development under the guidance of the South African Human Rights Commission (SAHRC), and is supported by the University of Pretoria. The Moot was initiated by the University of Pretoria ten years ago. All high schools in the country are invited to enter a team of two learners, who argue both sides. 

It aims to create greater awareness in schools and communities in South Africa about the Constitution and the values that it embodies through active participation. The aim is also to encourage talented young people to consider pursuing a law career.

This Competition provides a unique opportunity for learners to develop their research, writing and oral advocacy skills as they endeavour to come to grips with some of the constitutional issues that are presently facing our country. Participants will be allowed to argue their case in any of the 11 official languages in the oral rounds before judges in an actual court scenario.

The ideal will be to work towards a Competition organised by a different grouping of law faculties each year. All law faculties in the country will be requested to make some of their capacity available to support the individual learners in preparing for the Competition. The collaboration of the organised legal profession will also be sought to assist learners.

All secondary schools in South Africa are invited to enter a team of two learners. The first round will be in written form. Learners will be expected to write two short essays (two to four pages for each essay) setting out the opposing sides of the case.

The essays must be received by the organisers by the end of July 2020. Moderate extension will be given to schools who contact us in this regard.

For any questions or queries please do not hesitate to contact Mr Nyambeni Davhana at  [email protected] or [email protected] or landline: +27 (0)12 420 5883.


Visit Schools Moot Website



Please do not hesitate to contact the provincial coordinators if you have any questions or queries



Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences