Golden Key

Golden Key is is the world's largest collegiate honour society, internationally recognised, non-profit organization affiliated with over 400 universities throughout Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Malaysia, the Bahamas, South Africa, India and the United States.  The Society’s mission is to enable members to realize their potential by connecting individual achievement with service and lifelong opportunity. Golden Key National Honour Society was founded by a group of undergraduate students and faculty members at Georgia State University in Atlanta, Georgia, on November 29, 1977. It is the world’s largest collegiate honour society and is a mission focused, values based and demographics driven organization.  With 39 years of rich tradition, Golden Key remains committed to scholarship, career development, leadership and community service. Golden Key South Africa started in 2000, has 15 active chapters currently and touched the lives of more than 91,000 South Africans.


Golden Key is proud to be associated with a number of outstanding Honorary Members who support the initiatives of the Society.  In addition to their individual accomplishments, these individuals are nominated by the students because of their personal interest and support of ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE.

The following prominent people are amongst those who have accepted Honorary Membership of Golden Key in South Africa:



Mr Ahmed Kathrada (South African Politician - Advisor to Nelson Mandela)

Lady Wendy Lahube (Founder & Chairman: Women Private Equity Fund)

Mr Greg Marinovich (Photographer, Author, Pulitzer Prize Winner)

Ms Naadiya Moosajee (Co-Founder: SAWomEng, Engineer, Entrepreneur)

Mr Richard Simmonds (Professional Speaker, Rule Breaker and Change Maker)

Mr Shaka Sizulu (Entrepreneur, Media Personality, Social Activist)

Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu (Nobel Peace Prise Laureate)

Mr Derek Watts (Journalist)


Mr Yusuf Abramjee (Head of News PRIMEDIA)

Dr Taddy Blecher (CEO and Co-Founder: CIDA City Campus)

Mr Adam Ebrahim (CEO: Oasis Group Holdings)

Mrs Phuti Mahanyele (CEO: Shanduka Group)

Mr Barend Petersen (Executive Chairman: De Beers Consolidated Mines)

Mr Mike Teke (CEO: Optimum Coal Holdings Ltd., Vice President of Chamber of Mines)

Mr Gavin Verejes (CEO: Richmark, Founder of SA Rugby Legends Association)


Mr Hugh Amoore (Registrar: University of Cape Town)

Dr Elsa Crause (Vice-Principal Academic and Research: University of the Free State, Qwaqwa campus)

Prof. Ahmed Bawa (Vice-Chancellor and Principal: Durban University of Technology)

Prof Mashudu Davhana-Maselesele (Rector: North-West University, Mafikeng Campus)

Dr Lis Lange (Vice-Rector Academics: University of the Free State)

Prof Cheryl de la Rey (Vice-Chancellor and Principal: University of Pretoria)

Prof Linda du Plessis (Vice-Rector: North-West University, Vaal Triangle Campus)

Prof Dan Kgwadi (Vice-Chancellor: North-West University)

Professor Tawana Kupe (Deputy Vice-Chancellor Advancement, HR and Transformation: University of the Witwatersrand)

Prof Andrew Leitch (Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University)

Rev Dr Thabo Makgoba (Chancellor: University of the Western Cape)

Dr Choice Makhetha (Vice-Rector Student Affairs and External Relations: University of the Free State)

Prof Tshilidzi Marwala (Deputy Vice Chancellor Research, Library and Post-Graduate Studies: University of Johannesburg)

Dr Khotso Mokhele (Chancellor: University of the Free State)

Prof Njabulo Ndebele (Chancellor: University of Johannesburg)

Prof Brian O’Connell (Rector and Vice-Chancellor: University of the Western Cape)

Prof Tyrone Pretorius (Rector and Vice-Chancellor: University of the Western Cape)

Dr Max Price (Vice-Chancellor: University of Cape Town)

Prof Ihron Rensburg (Vice-Chancellor: University of Johannesburg)

Prof Derrick Swartz (Vice-Chancellor: Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University)

Prof Frikkie van Niekerk (Deputy Vice-Chancellor: North-West University, Potchefstroom Campus)

Prof Herman van Schalkwyk (Rector: North-West University, Potchefstroom Campus)

Prof Danie Visser (Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research and Internationalisation: University of Cape Town)


Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences