Faculty awards eight top achievers students of 2015

Posted on October 21, 2016

The Dean Prof Chika Sehoole, Prof Max Braun, Deputy Dean; the five Heads of Departments; staff from Student Administration; Teaching Practice and Marketing and Communication honoured the eight top achievers in the BEd degree of 2015. The function was held on 19 October 2016. These students were the best among 700 contact undergraduate education students. Also attending were the family and some friends of the students. READ MORE….

Tiny Maake was acknowledged as the Top Achiever in the degree BEd Further Education and Training: General. Carika Bell was honoured as Top Achiever in the Senior Phase degree; Rosemarié Behr as the Top Achiever in the degree BEd Further Education and Training; Natural Sciences while Denisha Labuschagne received the award as Top Achiever in the Degree BEd Further Education and Training: Human Movement Studies and Sport Management. Denise Tamagone was awarded as the Top Achiever in the degree BEd Intermediate Phase and Nicolé Mc Cord as the student with the highest marks in Teaching Practice. Clarissa Dussé received the award as the Top Achiever in the degree Further Education and Training: Economic and Management Sciences.

As the winner of the Award of the Vice-Chancellor and Principal, Ulrike Reinstorf received a medal and a certificate at the graduation ceremony in April this year. The Faculty of Education also acknowledged her at the function for outstanding achievement as Top Achiever in the degree BEd Early Childhood Development and Foundation Phase.

Prof Chika Sehoole, Dean of the Faculty of Education, saluted each of the eight students for their excellence in the four years of study. He mentioned that the University of Pretoria has recently adopted the [email protected] campaign to support students to complete their degrees in minimum period. ‘Fly stands for the Finish Line is Yours’.

“In this campaign we would like to encourage students to take responsibility for their own finish lines and #graduate on time. We believe in our students, as we choose the best students to study here, and we believe that we can increase the present percentage of students who graduate in the minimum time allocated. I am proud to say that you as Top Achievers in the Faculty of Education have done just that. You completed your degree in the minimum period. Congratulations on that. Hopefully you will also enrol for postgraduate studies, if you have not done so yet”, Prof Sehoole said.  


Prof Chika Sehoole, Dean of the Faculty of Education, presents a Top Achievers Award to Tiny Maake.

Prof Chika Sehoole with Ulrike Reinstorf. 

Carika Bell with Prof Chika Sehoole

Nicolé Mac Cord and Prof Chika Sehoole

Prof Chika Sehoole with Clarissa Dussé

Denisha Labuschagne and Prof Chika Sehoole

Rosemarié Behr with Prof Chika Sehoole

Prof Ina Joubert, Head of the Department of Early Childhood Education presents an Award and flowers to Ulrike Reinstorf in celebration of her outstanding achievements while Prof Chika Sehoole enjoys the moment

Published by Thabo Masenamela

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2020. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences