Prof Liesel Ebersöhn elected as Member of ASSAf

Posted on January 20, 2015

Prof Liesel Ebersöhn, professor in the Department of Educational Psychology and Head of the Unit for Education Research in AIDS, was elected as member of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf).

ASSAf was formed in response to the need for an Academy of Science congruent with the dawn of democracy in South Africa - an activist in its mission of using science for the benefit of society. The mandate of the Academy encompasses all fields of scientific enquiry and it includes the full diversity of South Africa’s distinguished scientists.

The strategic priorities of the Academy are closely matched to those of the nation. It focuses particularly on the need for greatly enhanced availability of high-level human capital and an increased use of the country’s best intellectual expertise in generating evidence-based policy advice that is practically feasible. The Parliament of South Africa passed the Academy of Science of South Africa Act (Act 67 of 2001), and ASSAf is the official national Academy of Science of South Africa representing the country in the international community of science academies.

Published by Petronel Fourie

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2020. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences