EMS honours research and teaching excellence

Posted on June 21, 2018

Academic staff in the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences were honoured for the excellence they achieved in teaching and learning, as well as research, at the prestigious annual EMS Awards Function, which was held on 6 June 2018.
Prof Elsabé Loots, Dean of the Faculty, praised the staff in the Faculty for their commitment and hard work in the 2017 academic year. The Research Awards recognise annual contributions to the research vision of the Faculty, while the awards in the teaching and learning category give recognition to lecturers who introduced innovations in their classrooms, maintained high module pass rates and were assessed to be good teachers based on an objective evaluation of their teaching and classroom practice.
The winners were:
Teaching and Learning Awards
Prof Stephen Coetzee (Department of Accounting)
The use of messaging apps as a learning tool may enhance student learning, engagement, motivation and interest, and also present possibilities for collaborative learning and quicker responses to FAQs in a large class environment. The aim of this intervention used in FRK 201 was for students to actively learn, independently construct their own knowledge through interaction with each other and the bots, to reflect and think more critically and read more attentively, while growing as independent thinkers and lifelong learners.
Prof Natasja Holtzhausen (School of Public Management & Administration)
Public Practices (PBP) 320 is a unique community engagement module, which provides third-year students with a platform to share what they have learnt during their three years of study with various members of the community. Through this module and the associated video feedback, students have learnt that community engagement is about an individual looking beyond themselves and empowering others to make their lives better.
Prof Kato Plant (Department of Auditing)
The Department of Auditing adapted its postgraduate Internal Auditing Honours programme to include a year module, named Internal Financial Control (IOK 704), which follows an integrated business process approach rather than a silo audit approach. The module integrates financial accounting, management accounting and financial management principles into the internal audit process. Prof Plant introduced this unique approach, which was the first step towards an integrated audit module.
Ms Astrid Schmulian (Department of Accounting)
The Immediate Feedback Assessment Technique (IF-AT) entails the use of a student-centred multiple-choice answer card, similar to a lottery scratch card, in group assessments. Students scratch off the coating on their preferred response after team consultation, and immediate feedback is then provided to them. This method proved to be most successful and was used for two team assessments in FRK 201 during 2017. It supports the development of the highly essential group work pervasive skill in the CA programme.
Research Awards
First Article Publication
  • Mr Thinkwell Ndhlovu (Department of Marketing Management)
  • Ms Ilinza Penning (Department of Taxation)
  • Mr Arno Meyer (Department of Business Management)
Best Junior Researcher in a Discipline
Management Sciences
Mr Wesley Niemann (Department of Business Management)
Financial Sciences
Ms Anna-Retha Smit (Department of Accounting)
Economics Sciences
Prof Yoseph Getachew (Department of Economics)
Best Senior Researcher in a Discipline
Management Sciences (co-winners)
Prof Deon Meiring (Department of Human Resource Management)
Prof Melanie Wiese (Department of Marketing Management)
Financial Sciences (co-winners)
Prof John Hall (Department of Financial Management)
Prof Elmar Venter (Department of Accounting)
Economic Sciences
Prof Roula Inglesi-Lotz (Department of Economics)
Most Improved Research Performance by a Department
Tourism Management Division
Overall Researcher of the Year
Prof Rangan Gupta (Department of Economics) for the fourth year in a row
Stella Nkomo Award for Best Doctoral Thesis
Dr Carolyn Chisadza (Department of Economics)
- Author Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences