

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2025

Master of Town and Regional Planning [MTRP] (Coursework) (12252036)

Department Town and Regional Planning

Minimum duration of

study

2 years

Total credits 240

NQF level 09

Programme information

This master's degree is obtained by virtue of coursework and a mini-dissertation. The topic of the mini-dissertation must be approved by the relevant head of department.

Admission requirements

1. Bachelor of Town and Regional Planning degree of the University of Pretoria

or

equivalent degree in Town and Regional Planning in a course or programme accredited by (1) the professional council or organisation in the country in which it is offered - the South African Council for Planners (SACPLAN) in the case of South Africa - or (2) an international planning organisation or institute such as the Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI)

or

relevant honours-level degree in a field relevant to, or related to planning (such as architecture, civil engineering, construction, economics, geography, sociology, public management, law or development studies), that is deemed acceptable by the departmental Postgraduate Committee

Note: Practical experience may be required

Additional requirements

Supplementary undergraduate modules for the MT&RP degree may be prescribed for students who have not obtained a BT&RP degree.

Examinations and pass requirements

A minimum semester/year mark of 40% is required in order to be admitted to the final examination in a specific module. In addition, all other examination admission requirements, applicable to the relevant module, must be met. A minimum pass mark of 40% is required in the examination, with a minimum final mark of 50% to pass.



Pass with distinction

The degree is conferred with distinction on a student who obtains a weighted average of at least 75% (not rounded) in the examinations of all the prescribed core modules as well as the mini-dissertation.



Curriculum: Year 1

Core modules

Integrated development planning 820 (TPD 820) - Credits: 20.00

Metropolitan and urban area-based interventions 811 (TPI 811) - Credits: 20.00

Regional interventions 821 (TPI 821) - Credits: 20.00

Sustainable settlement planning and design 810 (TPS 810) - Credits: 20.00

Introduction to urban design 820 (TPS 820) - Credits: 20.00

An overview of planning theory and practice 810 (TRP 810) - Credits: 20.00



Curriculum: Final year

Core modules

Research methodology 810 (TPE 810) - Credits: 20.00 Mini-dissertation 820 (TPE 820) - Credits: 60.00

Land use management and land development 810 (TPU 810) - Credits: 20.00 Institutional and legal structures for planning 810 (TPW 810) - Credits: 20.00

General Academic Regulations and Student Rules

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations. The G Regulations are updated annually and may be amended after the publication of this information.

Regulations, degree requirements and information

The faculty regulations, information on and requirements for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQSF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.