

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2025

MSc specialising in Medical Nuclear Science (10253063)

Department	Nuclear Medicine
Minimum duration of study	1 year
Total credits	180
NQF level	09

Programme information

In accordance with the stipulations of the General Academic Regulations G30-G41, the MSc degree is conferred by virtue of an examination, or an examination and a dissertation, or an examination and an essay, or a dissertation.

Note:

All MSc students must register for, and attend (TNM 802) Applied research methodology 802 satisfactorily. (Exemption may be granted if the module has already been passed for the BScHons degree.)

All the stipulations pertaining to coursework master's degrees and postgraduate studies in accordance with the General Academic Regulations apply. Subject to the stipulations of the General Academic Regulations, the Chairperson of the School in question may, in consultation with the relevant head of department, approve a fixed limited extension of the period on the grounds of extraordinary circumstances.

Admission requirements

1. Relevant honours degree

or

Relevant four-year bachelor's degree

or

Relevant bachelor's degree with applicable practical (work) experience

Note: Additional work/modules may be required in order to reach the desired level of competency

Research information

Research protocol

After registration, a student is required to submit a complete research protocol regarding the proposed dissertation to the MSc Committee of the School and if necessary, also to the Ethics Committee for approval.



Dissertation

A dissertation must be submitted via Student Administration at least three months prior to the date of a particular graduation ceremony. A manual on the editing of dissertations is available on request from the relevant head of department.

Pass with distinction

The degree is conferred with distinction on a student who has obtained an average of at least 75% in the examination, or in the examination and the dissertation, or in the examination and the essay, or in the dissertation.



Curriculum: Final year

Core modules

Dissertation: Medical nuclear science 890 (GKW 890)

Module credits	180.00
NQF Level	09
Prerequisites	No prerequisites.
Language of tuition	Module is presented in English
Department	Nuclear Medicine
Period of presentation	Year

Applied research methodology 802 (TNM 802)

Module credits	0.00
NQF Level	09
Language of tuition	Module is presented in English
Department	Health Sciences Dean's Office
Period of presentation	Year
Module content	

*Attendance module only.

General Academic Regulations and Student Rules

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations. The G Regulations are updated annually and may be amended after the publication of this information.

Regulations, degree requirements and information

The faculty regulations, information on and requirements for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQSF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are



legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.