

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2024

PhD Anaesthesiology (10260522)

Department Anaesthesiology

Minimum duration of

study

2 years

Total credits 360

NQF level 10

Programme information

Also consult General Academic Regulations G42-G55.

A PhD student must:

- i. under the supervision of a supervisor at the university or another institution approved by the Senate, undertake original research to the satisfaction of the examiners; and
- ii. submit a thesis which will prove, according to the opinion of the examiners, that he or she has, on the grounds of independent critical judgement, made a distinct contribution towards the enrichment of knowledge in the chosen subject.

A student for the PhD degree must be registered for the doctoral degree study at the University for at least one academic year before the degree can be conferred.

The PhD degree is conferred by virtue of a thesis and, should the Dean deem it necessary, an examination on the field of study of the thesis.

The maximum period for completion of a doctoral degree is three years. Under exceptional circumstances, a student may apply to the relevant head of the department, in writing, for a fixed, limited extension of this period.

Admission requirements

1. MBChB (or equivalent) degree **or** relevant master's degree.

Examinations and pass requirements

The doctoral examination will be oral and/or written and will deal with the content of the thesis as well as those subdivisions of the field of study on which the thesis is based, if requested.

Research information

A complete research protocol regarding the proposed thesis (as well as the curriculum vitae of the candidate) must be submitted to the Postgraduate committee of the School in question and if necessary, also to the Ethics Committee for approval. The thesis must deal with a problem from any



field of study in the Health Sciences and must satisfy the supervisor and the examiners that it represents advanced original research and/or creative work in the field of the Health Sciences. It must give an overview of the literature that was used on the topic and contain a description of the observations made and experiments done by the student, as well as a discussion of the conclusions reached.



Curriculum: Year 1

Core modules

Thesis: Anaesthesiology 990 (ANE 990)

Module credits 360.00

NQF Level 10

Prerequisites No prerequisites.

Language of tuition Module is presented in English

Department Anesthesiology

Period of presentation Year



Curriculum: Final year

Core modules

Thesis: Anaesthesiology 990 (ANE 990)

Module credits 360.00

NQF Level 10

Prerequisites No prerequisites.

Language of tuition Module is presented in English

Department Anesthesiology

Period of presentation Year

General Academic Regulations and Student Rules

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations. The G Regulations are updated annually and may be amended after the publication of this information.

Regulations, degree requirements and information

The faculty regulations, information on and requirements for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQSF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.