

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2023

PhD (Physiotherapy) (10260452)

Department Physiotherapy

Minimum duration of

study

2 years

Total credits 360

NQF level 10

Programme information

The PhD is conferred by virtue of a thesis (FTP 990) and, unless the Dean decides otherwise, an examination on the field of study covered by the thesis (FTP 900).

The maximum period for the completion of a doctoral degree is five years. However, in accordance with the stipulations of the General Academic Regulation G44 and in extraordinary circumstances, the Chairperson of a School may, on the recommendation of the head of department, approve a fixed, limited extension of the period.

Admission requirements

1. Master's degree in Physiotherapy **or** relevant master's degree

Additional requirements

Also consult General Academic Regulations G42-G55.

Research information

- a. A complete research protocol with regard to the thesis must be submitted to an evaluation committee and, if necessary, also to the Ethics Committee for approval. The evaluation committee is constituted by the head of department in conjunction with the Chairperson of the School and will consist of experienced persons in research in the proposed field of study of the candidate.
 - At least two committee members will be appointed from other national and/or international tertiary institutions. Due to financial constraints, technological aids will be used in the case of committee members from foreign universities, who will for this reason be unable to attend the meeting. The report of the evaluation committee will be made available to the candidate in writing.
- b. The thesis must deal with a problem from one or other field of Physiotherapy and must be proof to the supervisor and examiners that it represents original research.



General information

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.



Curriculum: Year 1

Core modules

Thesis: Physiotherapy 990 (FTP 990) - Credits: 360.00



Curriculum: Final year

Core modules

Thesis: Physiotherapy 990 (FTP 990) - Credits: 360.00

Regulations and rules

The regulations and rules for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.