

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2023

BScHons (Aerospace Medicine) (10244024)

Department Aerospace Medicine

Minimum duration of

study

2 years

Total credits 120

NQF level 08

Programme information

The following requirements are set:

- Advanced instruction by means of self-tuition, lectures and seminars.
- Students must pass the module TNM 700 Applied research methodology 700.
- Students must pass the module PHM 770 Learning in public health 770.
- Students must pass a research report (or project) that carries at least 30 credits.

Admission requirements

- 1. MBChB (or equivalent) degree
- 2. A weighted average of at least 60% at final-year level
- 3. Registered as an Aviation Medical Examiner

Additional requirements

- Candidates must have an MBChB or equivalent degree deemed acceptable by the head of the department.
- Candidates must be registered Aviation Medical Examiners.

Examinations and pass requirements

- i. The individual modules in each field of study must all be passed with a mark of at least 50% in each module, before a student may graduate in that field of study.
- ii. Each field of study has a specified, externally moderated, summative assessment that must also be passed before the student may graduate.

Pass with distinction

The degree is conferred with distinction on a student who has obtained an average of at least 75% in the summative assessment, as well as an average of at least 75% for the remaining components of the curriculum (i.e. excluding the summative assessment mark).



General information

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.



Curriculum: Final year

Minimum credits: 120

Core modules

Primary epidemiology 773 (HME 773) - Credits: 10.00 Aerospace medicine 700 (LRG 700) - Credits: 75.00

Research report: Aerospace medicine 701 (LRG 701) - Credits: 30.00

Learning in public health 773 (PHM 773) - Credits: 5.00

Applied research methodology 700 (TNM 700) - Credits: 0.00

Regulations and rules

The regulations and rules for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.