

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2023

BScHons (Physics) (02240232)

Department Physics

Minimum duration of

1 year

Total credits

135

NQF level

study

08

Admission requirements

- 1. Relevant BSc degree
- 2. An average of at least 60% for Physics modules at third-year level

General information

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.



Curriculum: Final year

Minimum credits: 135

Additional information:

Students registered for the BScHons in Physics degree enrol for Physics 700. The programme comprises of 135 credits and consists of 220 lectures. It includes a research project of 35 credits comprising an individual research report that culminates in a seminar presentation. The programme may optionally include advanced experimental work. The curriculum is compiled in consultation with the Head of the Department of Physics, from whom details are available. With permission from the head of department a maximum of 30 credits may be taken from other postgraduate modules from other departments.

The modules listed below may be taken by students in other honours degree programmes. They must, however, first consult with the Head of the Department of Physics about the availability of a particular module in a particular year.

Core modules

Physics 700 (FSK 700)

Module credits	135.00
NQF Level	08
Prerequisites	No prerequisites.
Contact time	1 discussion class per week, 1 other contact session per week, 1 seminar per week, 10 lectures per week
Language of tuition	Module is presented in English
Department	Physics
Period of presentation	Year

Module content

The course content is determined by the Head of the Department of Physics. In addition to the usual subjects, viz. classical mechanics, quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics, electrodynamics, solid state physics, experiments or modelling, and a mini-research project, there are also elective subjects.

Regulations and rules

The regulations and rules for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific



regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.