

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2016

General Regulations and Rules of the University of Pretoria and the Glossary of Terms.

General Rules

Language of tuition

In conducting its business, the University uses two official languages, namely English and Afrikaans. In formal education the language of tuition is either English or Afrikaans, or both of these languages; provided that there is a demand and that it is academically and economically justifiable. However, it remains the student's responsibility to ascertain on an annual basis in which language a module and any further level of that module is presented. This information is published annually in the Timetable Book. The University reserves the right to change the language of tuition on short notice, depending on the size of the groups and the availability of lecturers. In respect of administrative and other services, a student has the right to choose whether the University should communicate with him or her in English or Afrikaans. Where the University has the capacity, Sepedi is used as an additional language of communication.

The Registrar has an overall responsibility for overseeing the implementation of the University's Language Policy. **Please note:** Since 1997, English is the only medium of instruction in the Faculty of Veterinary Science, although undergraduate students may answer tests and examinations in Afrikaans. A proficiency test in English may be required as part of the selection procedure.

The information published here is subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information. The **General Regulations** (**G Regulations**) apply to all faculties of the University of Pretoria. It is expected of students to familiarise themselves well with these regulations as well as with the information contained in the **General Rules** section. Ignorance concerning these regulations and rules will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression.