Longitudinal clinic attachment programme 380

Modulekode LCP 380
Kwalifikasie Undergraduate
Fakulteit Faculty of Health Sciences

The longitudinal clinic attachment programme will link students to one of about 40 clinics in Pretoria and its surrounds.  Each student is allocated to a specific clinic in Tshwane, Hammanskraal or Metsweding for a four-year period - medical students from the middle of the first year to the middle of the fifth year, and dentistry students from the middle of the first year to the end of the second year.  Students will visit these clinics during the course of each block and special activity as negotiated with each block and rotation chair.  The activities they do at the clinic will be the practical application of the theory they acquired in class with the added benefit of the experience of the context of the patient and the healthcare system.

Modulekrediete 0.00
NQF Level 07
Prerequisites 3rd-year status.
Contact time 1 practical per week, Community Engagement
Language of tuition Module is presented in English
Department Health Sciences Deans Office
Period of presentation Year

General Academic Regulations and Student Rules
The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations. The G Regulations are updated annually and may be amended after the publication of this information.

Regulations, degree requirements and information
The faculty regulations, information on and requirements for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project
The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQSF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences