About the Department


The Department of Mercantile Law is the largest department in the Faculty of Law and has 22 full-time lecturers. The Department has a proud tradition in excellent teaching and research. Twelve of its staff members hold LLD degrees. Many staff members are recognised both nationally and internationally, as excellent researchers and teachers. Some of our members of staff serve on legislative bodies and editorial boards and many are recognised as specialists in their respective fields.

The Department is justifiably proud of its LLM courses. A significant number of Master students enrol for programmes such as Mercantile Law, Corporate Law, Insolvency Law, Labour Law, Consumer Protection Law and Tax Law. The Department also prides itself in the fact that it has the capacity to accommodate LLD students in most of the specialist areas within the field of Mercantile Law. The Department furthermore strives to promote life-long learning by offering a number of short courses. The subject areas of these courses include the National Credit Act, Competition Law, Disciplinary Enquiries at the Workplace, Labour Law and Insolvency Law.

Published by Elzet Hurter

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2022. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences