Prof Anton Ströh (Dean, NAS)

Prof Anton Ströh has been Dean of the faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences since May 2004. He completed his postgraduate studies at UP where he obtained his BSc (Honours) and MSc degrees cum laude and was awarded his PhD in 1989 at the age of 24. In 1988 he was appointed as Lecturer in the Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics. In 1994, the renowned Banach Centre in Warsaw invited him to do research for a period of six months. During this visit, he completed a Riesz decomposition theory relative to closed ideals in operator algebras by solving - in its most general form - a question on ideal structures of operator algebras with Prof L Zsido from Rome, Italy. In July of the same year he received the University's Young Researcher of the Year Award. Prof Ströh was promoted to Associate Professor in 1996 and to Professor in 2000. At the same time, he was appointed as the Head of the Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics.

In 2000 he was appointed as the Chairperson of the School of Mathematical Sciences, which consisted of the departments of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, Statistics and Insurance and Actuarial Science. In 2008 he was elected by the Senate as a member of the Council of the University and by Council on the Standing Committee of Council in 2010. He was elected as Chair of the National Science Deans Forum (NSDF) in 2009.

Over the past ten years, Prof Ströh has made significant contributions to the research field of functional analysis with interpretations in quantum statistical mechanics. In a series of papers, starting with a fundamental paper of more than 50 pages published in 2003 in the Journal of Operator Theory, Prof Ströh and his local and international collaborators introduced the notions of ergodic theory, mixing and recurrence properties in quantum dynamical systems for the first time. This work has gained considerable attention worldwide.

Prof Ströh has delivered papers at various local and international conferences and has been a coorganiser of five international conferences. He is the author of various research articles in internationally accredited journals. In 2001, he received a gold medal from the South African Mathematical Society for his contribution to research capacity building and in 2003, 2006, 2009 and 2012 he received an Exceptional Achievers Award from the University of Pretoria.