







Conference on African Constitutionalism: Present Challenges and Prospects for the Future

Programme

1 to 3 August 2011

TIME	DESCRIPTION
	ugust 2011: Law Auditorium
18:00-21:00	Official opening of the Conference on African Constitutionalism: Present Challenges and Prospects for the Future
	Chairperson: Erika de Wet (University of Pretoria)
	Official opening: Andries Nel, Deputy Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development of South Africa Keynote address: Yash Ghai (former Chairperson, Constitution of Kenya Review Commission)
	Reception at the Institute for International and Comparative Law in Africa
Tuesday, 2 A	ugust 2011: Sanlam Auditorium and Moot Court (afternoon)
09:00-10:30	A word of welcome: Dr. Werner Böhler (Resident Representative, Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation, South Africa)
	The role of the executive
	Chairperson: Christina Murray (University of Cape Town)
	Panellists: Kwasi Prempeh (Seton Hall University School of Law); Enyinna Nwauche (Centre for African Legal Studies)
10:30-11:00	Break
11:30-12:30	The role of the judiciary Chairperson: Christian Roschmann (Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation, Kenya)
	Panellists:; Benjamin Odoki (Chief Justice of Uganda); Patricia Kameri-Mbote (Strathmore University)
13:00-14:00	Lunch
14:00-15:30	Track 1 (Sanlam Auditorium): The uncomfortable fit between pluralism and constitutionalism
	Chairperson: Yvonne Mokgoro (former South African Constitutional Court Justice and Chairperson, South African Law Reform Commission)
	Panellists: Martin Chanock (La Trobe University); Mashood Baderin (School of Oriental and African Studies).
	Track 2 (Moot Court): Constitutional durability and constitutional change
	Chairperson: Kofi Quashigah (University of Ghana) Panellists: Charles Fombad (University of Pretoria); Koos Malan (University of Pretoria)
15:30-16:00	Break
16:00-17:30	Devolution and Elections
	Chairperson: Samuel Emokor (Assistant to Chief Justice of Uganda)) Panellists: Nico Steytler (University of The Western Cape) Adekunle Amuwo (International Crisis Group Senegal)
19:00-22:00	Dinner and Address by Naledi Pandor, Minister of Science and Technology at the Institute for International and Comparative Law in Africa

TIME	DESCRIPTION
Wednesday,	3 August 2011 Sanlam Auditorium
09:00-10:30	The role of parliaments, non-judicial public bodies and civil society
	Chairperson: Jill Ghai (Katiba Institute, Nairobi)
	Panellist: Lia Nijzink (University of Cape Town)
10:30-11:00	Break
11:00-12:30	An assessment of the impact of international influences on constitutionalism in Africa
11.00-12.00	An assessment of the impact of international influences of constitutionalism in Africa
	Chairperson: Arthur Chaskalson (former President of the Constitutional Court and former Chief Justice of South
	Africa
	Panellists: Stef Vandeginste (Antwerp) presented by Charles Fombad; Muna Ndulo (Cornell University Law
	School)
12:30-14:00	Lunch
14:00-15:30	Do African challenges equal global challenges?
14.00 10.00	
	Chairperson: Francois Venter (North West University, Potchefstroom campus)
	Round Table discussion with Yash Ghai (former Chairperson, Constitution of Kenya Review Commission); Rainer
	Grote (Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law); Michel Rosenfeld (Cardozo School
1	of Law)
15:30-16:00	Break
16:00-17:30	Media Freedom in Southern Africa – constitutionalism betrayed?
	Launch of Konrad Adenauer website on media law : Markus Brauckmann (Director, Konrad Adenauer
	Foundation, Media Africa)
	Address: Justine Limpitlaw (Editor of SADC Media Law and Practice)
17:30-19:00	Reception at the Faculty of Law
	August 2011 Sanlam Auditorium
09:00-10:30	The current state of media law in (Southern) Africa
	Chair person: William Bird (Media Monitoring Africa) Panellists: Sternford Moyo, (Scanlen & Holderness Solicitors, Zimbabwe); Tachilisa Balule (University of
	Botswana); Lindiwe Khumalo Matse (Attorney, Swaziland)
10:30-11:00	Break
11:00-12:30	Outlawing criminal libel laws in Ghana
	Chairperson: Markus Brauckmann (Director, Konrad Adenauer Foundation, Media Africa)
	Address: H.E. Nana Akufo-Addo (former Foreign Secretary of Ghana & 2012 Presidential Candidate)
12:30-13:30	Lunch
13:30-14:45	Access to Information
	Chairperson: Richard Calland (University of Cape Town)
	Panellists: Edwin Abuya (University of Nairobi); Fola Adeleke (Open Democracy Advice Centre); Chris Mhike
	(Attorney, Zimbabwe)
14h·5-15·45	
14h:5-15:45	Media freedom in the digital age
14h:5-15:45	
14h:5-15:45	Media freedom in the digital age
	Media freedom in the digital age Chairperson: Erika de Wet (University of Pretoria)
15:45-16:00	Media freedom in the digital age Chairperson: Erika de Wet (University of Pretoria) Address: Guy Berger (Rhodes University, Grahamstown) Break
14h:5-15:45 15:45-16:00 16:00-17:15	Media freedom in the digital age Chairperson: Erika de Wet (University of Pretoria) Address: Guy Berger (Rhodes University, Grahamstown)
15:45-16:00	Media freedom in the digital age Chairperson: Erika de Wet (University of Pretoria) Address: Guy Berger (Rhodes University, Grahamstown) Break Media law in practice – a reality check Chairperson: Christof Heyns (University of Pretoria)
15:45-16:00	Media freedom in the digital age Chairperson: Erika de Wet (University of Pretoria) Address: Guy Berger (Rhodes University, Grahamstown) Break Media law in practice – a reality check Chairperson: Christof Heyns (University of Pretoria) Panellists: Gary Alfonso (Africa Business News); Mondli Makhanya (Avusa Media); Amadou Mahtar Ba
15:45-16:00	Media freedom in the digital age Chairperson: Erika de Wet (University of Pretoria) Address: Guy Berger (Rhodes University, Grahamstown) Break Media law in practice – a reality check Chairperson: Christof Heyns (University of Pretoria)
15:45-16:00	Media freedom in the digital age Chairperson: Erika de Wet (University of Pretoria) Address: Guy Berger (Rhodes University, Grahamstown) Break Media law in practice – a reality check Chairperson: Christof Heyns (University of Pretoria) Panellists: Gary Alfonso (Africa Business News); Mondli Makhanya (Avusa Media); Amadou Mahtar Ba