HISTORY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION PATHOLOGY

Date	Details
1937	Tertiary education for Speech Therapy in South Africa is instituted.
1953	First proposals for programme of instruction at UP.
1954	Committee of Faculty of Arts investigates the possibility of establishing a department.
1959	Department of Speech Science and Speech Therapy at UP approved. Appointment of Prof. P de V Pienaar as Head of Department.
1960	First students in Logopaedics enrol at UP.
1963	First students qualify.
1966	First soundproof chamber for hearing tests imported from the USA.
1969	Name changes to: Department of Speech Science, Speech Therapy and Audiology.
1970	Prof. Pienaar retires. Prof. Izak Hay appointed as Head of Department.
1976	Selection for admission to first year of study instituted – 25 students.
1981	Prof. Pienaar passes away. Kommunika: Nursery Group for Hearing and Language Impaired Preschoolers established.
1983	Change of name: Department of Speech Therapy and Audiology.
1989	Establishment Clinic for High Risk Babies (CHRIB)
1990	Name of degree changed to: B Communication Pathology. Establishment of Centre for Augmentative and Alternative Communication (CAAC).
1991	Name of department changed in accordance with international trends: Department of Communication Pathology. 1991 New Curriculum instituted.
1992	Prof. Hay retires. Prof. Isabella Uys appointed Head of Department.
1993	Establishment of Centre for Early Intervention in Communication Pathology.
1994	CAAC independent from the Department of Communication Pathology.
1997	Prof. Uys retires. Prof. René Hugo appointed Head of Department.
1999	Implementation of new modular program (three packages). Selection of 45 first year students per annum. New postgraduate programme: Advanced Diploma in Hearing Aid Acoustics instituted. HPCSA Professional Board for Speech, Language and Hearing Professions evaluation: Programme accreditation. External Review of the Department.

Date	Details
2000	Faculty of Arts changes name to Faculty of Humanities.
	Department of Communication Pathology in School for Social Sciences.
2003	Prof. Hugo retires.
	Compulsory Community Service Year mandated by Dept of Health.
	Prof. Brenda Louw appointed as Head of Department.
2004	Centenary Anniversary of Prof. P de V Pienaar (11-08-1904). formalization
2005	New Mission and Vision formulated for the department.
2006	HPCSA Professional Board for Speech, Language and Hearing Professions evaluation: Programme accreditation.
	External Review of the Department.
	Decision taken to train Audiologists and Speech-Language Therapists
	separately.
2007	Prof. Brenda Louw re-appointed as Head of the Department for a second
2007	term.
	Value system for the department formulated
	Department resorts under School of Social Sciences, Division of Applied Social Sciences.
	Advanced Diploma in Hearing Aid Acoustics accredited for the 2 nd time by
	the HPCSA Professional Board for Speech, Language and Hearing
	Professions.
2008	Development of New Curriculum.
	University of Pretoria Centenary.
2009	50 th Anniversary of the Department.
	Institution of new training curricula.
	B Communication Pathology (Audiology) and
	B Communication Pathology (Speech-Language Pathology).
	Prof Brenda Louw retires.