## The Carl and Emily Fuchs Foundation Fellowship

The Carl and Emily Fuchs **Institute for Microelectronics** (CEFIM) has been in existence at the University of Pretoria since 1981. It was established with the financial assistance of the Carl and Emily Fuchs Foundation, and is a research centre of the Department of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering. The institute provides worldclass education for electronic engineers, while producing groundbreaking research outputs in microelectronics.

The Carl and Emily Fuchs Foundation has introduced a fellowship, which entails an incentive grant to the value of R25 000.

It is awarded annually to an outstanding postgraduate student in the research field of microelectronics. Students registered for the BEng(Hons): Microelectronic Engineering, MEng/MSc: Microelectronic Engineering, PhD: Electronic Engineering or PhD: Electronics are eligible for this award.

Furthermore, the following criteria are also used in the selection process:

- Academic excellence in the previous year of postgraduate study
- Number of accepted papers at international peer-reviewed conferences
- Number of papers submitted to and accepted by accredited journals

- Active participation in CEFIM project meetings and colloquiums
- Registration for a CEFIMdesignated postgraduate research programme
- · Leadership in general
- Dedication (in general, for example, co-leading final-year undergraduate projects in the previous year, arranging CEFIM socials, and so forth)

The grant can be split up equally (two awards of R12 500 each) if the evaluation committee finds that two students are equally deserving. This was indeed the case last year, when the committee approved both Marius Goosen and Marnus Weststrate as recipients of the award. It was presented to them at an internal social function at CEFIM.

CEFIM would like to thank the Carl and Emily Fuchs Foundation for sponsoring the new fellowship. •



→ At the award function were (from left): Prof Wilhelm Leuschner, head of the Department of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering, Prof Monuko du Plessis, director of CEFIM, Marnus Weststrate, co-recipient of the award, Prof Roelf Sandenbergh, dean of the faculty, Marius Goosen, co-recipient of the award, and Dr Saurabh Sinha, study supervisor of the two recipients.