About us




The Division of Genetics was established at UP in 1952, as part of the then Faculty of Agriculture. Over time the Division has grown in size, strength and diversity to become a vibrant research community, with a strong academic focus. We currently form part of the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, Department of Biochemistry, Genetics and Mictobiology, with linkages to several faculties, research centres and institutes within UP, as well as a growing number of local and international institutions. The administrative hub, as well as most of our 15 research groups, are based on the Hatfield campus.

The Divisions' research programmes reflect the research expertise of the staff members, and enhance an inquiry-led approach in our undergraduate degree programmes. We share a strong commitment to provide our students with excellent, relevant and internationally recognised training in the broader field of Genetics.
Last edited by Kishen Mahesh

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2019. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share