

## University of Pretoria Yearbook 2023

# DMed (Anaesthesiology) (10260014)

**Department** Anaesthesiology

Minimum duration of

study

2 years

Total credits 360

NQF level 10

### Programme information

The DMed degree is conferred by virtue of a thesis and, if the Dean deems it necessary, an examination on the field of study of the thesis.

Also consult General Academic Regulations G42-G55.

### Admission requirements

1. MMed degree **or** PhD degree **or** relevant degree following an MBChB degree (at NQF-level 9)

### Research information

A complete research protocol regarding the proposed thesis (as well as the curriculum vitae of the candidate) must be submitted for approval to the Postgraduate Committee and if necessary, also to the Ethics Committee. The thesis must deal with a problem from any field of study in Medicine and must satisfy the supervisor and the examiners that it represents advanced original research and/or creative work in the field of Medicine. It must give an overview of the literature that was used on the topic and contain a description of the observations made and experiments done by the student, as well as a discussion of the conclusions reached.

#### General information

#### University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.



Curriculum: Year 1

Minimum credits: 360

**Core modules** 

**Thesis: Anaesthesiology 990 (ANE 990)** 

Module credits 360.00

NQF Level 10

**Prerequisites** No prerequisites.

**Language of tuition** Module is presented in English

**Department** Anesthesiology

**Period of presentation** Year



Curriculum: Final year

Minimum credits: 360

**Core modules** 

**Thesis: Anaesthesiology 990 (ANE 990)** 

Module credits 360.00

NQF Level 10

**Prerequisites** No prerequisites.

**Language of tuition** Module is presented in English

**Department** Anesthesiology

**Period of presentation** Year

#### **Regulations and rules**

The regulations and rules for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations.

#### University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.