

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2023

PGDip (Dentistry) Community Dentistry (10221032)

Department School of Dentistry

Minimum duration of

study

1 year

Total credits 120

NQF level 08

Admission requirements

- 1. Relevant BChD (or equivalent) degree
- 2. HPCSA registration where treatment of patients is involved

Other programme-specific information

Contact time

The contact time in the major field of study is determined by the relevant head of department and approved by the Dean. It includes systematic tuition as well as clinical/practical assignments.

Examinations and pass requirements

The examination in the basic subject and the main field of study may take place every semester. Examinations in both the basic subject as well as the main field of study may be written in the same semester. In order to be admitted to the examination in the main field of study the student must have passed the basic subject. A final mark of at least 50% is required to pass.

Subject to exceptions approved by the Dean, on the recommendation of the relevant head of department, a student may not enter for the postgraduate diploma's examination in the same subject more than twice.

Pass with distinction

The diploma is awarded with distinction to students who obtain at least 75% in both the main field of study and the basic subject.

General information

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications



and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.



Curriculum: Final year

Minimum credits: 120

Core modules

Community dentistry 703 (GTH 703) - Credits: 100.00

Elective modules

Anatomy 710 (ANA 710) - Credits: 20.00

Anatomy and principles of surgery 700 (CBA 700) - Credits: 20.00

Physiology 714 (FSG 714) - Credits: 20.00

Primary epidemiology 774 (HME 774) - Credits: 10.00 Applied oral biology 700 (MDB 700) - Credits: 20.00 Introductory radiography 702 (RAD 702) - Credits: 20.00 Ethics and jurisprudence 700 (RLE 700) - Credits: 30.00

Dental materials 702 (THM 702) - Credits: 20.00

Regulations and rules

The regulations and rules for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.