Email us

Virtual Campus

JuniorTukkie/PMA Agri-Food Career and Bursary Fair

The PMA Agri-Food Career and Bursary Fair, organised in conjunction with the University of Pretoria’s Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, JuniorTukkie (JT) and the UP Graduate Career Office is held annually at the Hatfield Campus of the University of Pretoria.

The Career and Bursary Fair showcased many career opportunities in the agricultural and food industry and was attended by first-year BSc (Biological Sciences) students (many of whom have not yet decided on an area of specialisation from their second-year onwards), second- to fourth-year agricultural, food sciences and consumer sciences students, as well as students on postgraduate level. Students from other disciplines such as BCom and Engineering also visited the various stalls. Approximately 1566 Grade 11 learners who attended the JuniorTukkie Grade 11 Top Achievers Function, were also given the opportunity to visit the Agri-Food Career and Bursary Fair.


Photo: Learners and students at the PMA Agri-Food Career and Bursary Fair (2015)

JuniorTukkie, in conjunction with Potatoes SA, embarked on a project to support the University of Pretoria’s Student Nutrition and Progress Programme (SNAP). The SNAP feeding scheme is an initiative of the Department of Student Affairs. This feeding scheme provided during the first semester a meal a day for 171 students. The JuniorTukkie Office encouraged learners, students, schools and exhibitors to support the project by each donating a 7kg bag of potatoes or non-perishable food such as canned food, a noodles or soup to SNAP.

We wish to extend our sincere appreciation to Schoeman Boerdery, Potatoes SA, ZZ2, Welgelegen Choice Apples and all other parties for their generous contributions to the SNAP feeding scheme. We also wish to thank Sakata Seed Southern Africa for the seedlings they donated to the University of Pretoria’s Sci-Enza Community Garden Project.


Back, from left: Ms Nivi Ragubeer (Department of Student Affairs & SNAP),
Xolisi Masango (JuniorTukkie Student Society), Dr Willem Jorissen (Department of Student Affairs & SNAP)
and Kudzai Muzerengwa (JuniorTukkie Student Society)

Front: Judith Seabi (JuniorTukkie Student Society)


Share this page
Last edited by Martha KilianEdit