Email us

Virtual Campus


The South African currency is Rand. Rand is denoted by the symbol R (eg R1.00 = 100 cents).
Foreign currency and traveller’s cheques (provided the currency is accepted in South Africa), may be converted into local currency. Local banks and a few other institutions listed below, will convert foreign currency: 

  • Travel Agencies
  •  Airlines
  • Bureaus de Change
  • American Express
  • Rennies
  • Thomas Cook, etc.

Please take note that a commission fee is charged for every transaction.
Websites: or


Banking facilities

All the major banks are in South Africa have Automated Teller Machines (ATMs). These ATMs operate 24 hours a day. Operational hours of banks in South Africa are:

 Mondays to Fridays from 09:00 – 15:00 and on Saturdays from 08:30 – 11:00.

Share this page