Future scientists awarded as exceptional achievers

Posted on July 12, 2023

More than 60 prizes were awarded at the Annual Exceptional Achievers Function for the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences students in June this year.

Dr Sibongiseni Mgolozeli, from the Department of Plant and Soil Sciences, was the programme director and Dr Seite Makgai, from the Department of Statistics, was the guest speaker.

Thys Steynberg, who completed his BSc degree in Physics, received the Vice‐Chancellor and Principal’s medal for maintaining a weighted average performance (93.34%) during his three years of undergraduate studies. He also obtained first place on the Dean’s List for the third-year students. Thys also pulled this achievement off in 2022, when he was the best second-year student on the Dean’s List.

Lethabo Mpshe was not only first on the Dean’s List in the BSc Extended Programmes with 83,55% but also won the ECP’s Exceptional Achievers Award for the best male first-year student in the BSc Extended Programme. Zerwick Johannes de Lange (BSc Physics) was first on the Dean’s List in the first-year category with 95,92%. In the second-year student category, Neale Berkenbosch (BSc Chemistry) earned the top spot with 95,70% and walked away with the Department of Chemistry Prize for the best second-year student in Chemistry. Mart-Marié Kotzé was the best student in the category for fourth-year students with 81,80% and also shared the SASCP Prize for the best final-year student in Plant Production and Soil Science with Gideon du Plessis.

Watch the virtual event here.

- Author Martie Meyer

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2024. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences