Postgraduate Courses

A detailed and complete description of all the postgraduate courses in the field of Civil Engineering per year is listed below: 
The Postgraduate Timetables can be found under the Student information link.
31 August to 4 September 2020 and 12 to 16 October 2020


With effect from the 2021 academic year no new applicants will be admitted to the BSc(Hons) Applied Sciences in Geotechnics, Transportation Planning, Water Resources or Structures as these programmes will be discontinued.  Prospective applicants for these programmes would need to approach other tertiary institutions.

Please note that the BEng(Hons) programmes will continue as in the past. 

As a guideline, 4-year BEng Civil Engineering degree or equivalent of a South African university or Washington Accord (WA) member with a final year weighted average of at least 60% would generally be admitted to the post-graduate programme. Acceptance of candidates with an academic record marginally not meeting the above, or a non-Washington Accord engineering degree is at the sole discretion of the departmental postgraduate committee and candidates might be required to write an entrance exam, essay or project.


Honours - Civil Research module 2017

To all New Honours students (first enrolment 2017)

From 2017 Civil Research 780 is mandatory for all honours students registering for the first time. Students who had registered prior to 2017 must complete their course programme under the regulations in effect when registered for the first time, with the proviso that the studies must be completed in 2017. Civil Research 780 is not an elective subject. It has been included into the curriculum due to changes in the National Department for Higher Education requirements for honours degrees. It cannot be replaced by a final year skripsie or a Master’s degree dissertation.

Published by Marco van Dijk

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2020. All rights reserved.

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share