Victor Pretorius Lecturer 2016: Prof Tebello Nyokong

Prof Tebello Nyokong

Department of Chemistry, Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa
[email protected]

Prof Tebello Nyokong holds a Department of Science and Technology/National Research Foundation  (DST/NRF) professorship in Medicinal chemistry and Nanotechnology at Rhodes University in South Africa.  She is also Director of the DST/Mintek Nanotechnology Innovation Centre (NIC)-Sensors also at Rhodes University. She has been undertaking research on applications of dyes and nanotechnology in cancer treatment, sensing and pollution control. She has successfully supervised over 70 PhD/MSc students.  She has published over 550 manuscripts (including patents, a book and book chapters).  Her H index is 53 (ISI).

She has received many awards (recognitions) for her research including:

She is to be awarded African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award in Jan 2016. In 2015 she was awarded a UNESCO Medal for Contribution to Development of Nanoscience and Nanotechnologies. In 2014, she was invited to be part of United Nation’s Secretary General’s High Level Panel (HLP) of Experts on Technology Bank and Science, Technology and Innovation supporting Mechanism dedicated to the least developed countries (LDC) and she was featured in 21 Icons (SABC-3), South Africa.

In 2013, she was awarded a medal by The World Academy of the Science (TWAS) for outstanding contributions to science and technology. The same year, she received South African Chemical Institute (SACI) Gold Medal, was awarded “A” rating and “Lifetime achievement” by the NRF.

In 2012, She was named by IT News Africa as one of the  top 10 most influential women in science and technology in Africa and was included in the National Center for Research on Human Evolution (CENIEH), located in Burgos, Spain to be one of their "12 NAMES TO CHANGE THE WORLD”.

In 2011, she was recognized by Royal Society in Chemistry/Pan African Chemistry Network as a  Distinguished Woman in  Chemistry and  awarded  Distinguished Professorship by Rhodes University. In 2010,  she received two honorary doctorates from Walter Sisulu University and the University of South Africa and   was inducted into Lesotho Hall of fame. 

In 2009, she received L’Oreal-UNESCO award for “Women in Science” as a Laureate representing Africa and the Arab States and she also received NRF President’s award as Champion for the transformation in research.

In 2009, a special motion was passed in the South African National Assembly acknowledging Professor Nyokong’s role in the transforming of science in South Africa.

In 2004 she was bestowed with the Order of Mapungubwe: Bronze by the then State President of South Africa Mr Thabo Mbeki and  was winner of  SABC2/Shoprite-Checkers Woman of the year 2004 in Science and Technology.

Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences