International partners set to establish the Joint Research Centre for Clean Energy

Posted on September 28, 2019

Six partners from South Africa and China participated in signing a memorandum of understanding to establish a Joint Research Centre For Clean Energy. South Africa is represented by the University of Pretoria, the University of the Witwatersrand, the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR). The three partners representing China are the Beijing University of Chemical Technology (BUCT), the China Petroleum and Chemical Industry Federation, and the Chinese Renewable Energy Society.
The memorandum of understanding was signed on the 19th August 2019 during the 7th International Biorefinery Conference, Johannesburg. The memorandum of understanding is a non-binding agreement that intends to support joint research and development collaborations between the two countries, and to encourage sharing of expertise in the field of green technologies. 


- Author Ryan Merckel
Published by Thandeka Dlamini


Copyright © University of Pretoria 2023. All rights reserved.

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

To contact the University during the COVID-19 lockdown, please send an email to [email protected]

Click here for frequently asked questions for first year UP students

FAQ's Email Us Virtual Campus Share Cookie Preferences