

## **TuksSport**

# TuksSport Press Release: 19 October 2018

### **2018 TuksSport Colours and Awards**

Record-breaking swimmer Tatjana Schoenmaker was named Sportswoman of the Year while Akani Simbine won Sportsman of the Year at the annual TuksSport Colours and Awards ceremony. Athletes and support staff were honoured at the prestigious event, which took place on 19 October 2018 at the Rembrandt Hall, Hillcrest Sports Campus.

Tatjana Schoenmaker made South African swimming history by winning the 100m and 200m breaststroke events during the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games. Her winning times in both events are now African records. She also set an African record in the 50m breaststroke. She is the first South African female swimmer in eight years to win gold at the

Commonwealth Games. In 2010 Natalie du Toit claimed three gold medals in Delhi.

Rocco Meiring who coaches Schoenmaker deservedly received Coach of the Year award for the individual sport category.

Akani Simbine confirmed his status as one of the world's best sprinters by becoming the first South African sprinter to win the gold medal in the 100m at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games. He is also



the current African sprint champion. His best time of 9.93s this season ranks him tenth in the IAAFrankings.

Definite highlights are the fact that TuksAthletics are celebrating a 100 years of excellence while TuksNetball has been going for 70 years.

Mr Toby Sutcliffe, Acting Director of TuksSport, believes that the continued TuksSport success in 2018 can be attributed to the hard work that all stakeholders contribute towards performance management in sport.

Sutcliffe took a moment to acknowledge the Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of Pretoria, Prof Cheryl de la Rey, for her contribution towards making TuksSport the most successful University in terms of sport in South Africa.

"In her nine-year tenure, she has inspired TuksSport athletes to focus on both sports and education. Prof. Cheryl de la Rey has helped us to create a legacy that will outlive this generation through steadfast leadership and a heroic aura," said Mr Sutcliffe.

### Highlights of another successful year at TuksSport:

- TuksSport won the following trophies in the Varsity Cup and Varsity Sports tournaments in 2018: Varsity Cricket, Varsity Athletics, Varsity Hockey and Varsity 7's (for the first time).
- The Stripe Generation also won USSA gold for Chess, Cricket, Hockey Women, Judo, Netball, Rowing Boat Race: Tuks Women's A – Gold; Rowing Sprints: Tuks Women A –Gold, Tuks Men A- Gold, Tuks Women B- Gold; Swimming, Women's 7s Rugby.
- 126 Senior National Protea representatives (athletes and managers),
- 47 National Federation and Age Group representatives,
- 62 University of Pretoria students were selected to be part of USSA National teams,
- 153 Senior Provincial representatives.

### 2018 TuksSport Colours and Awards:

- Sportsman of the Year: Akani Simbine
- **Sportswoman of the Year:** Tatjana Schoenmaker
- Student Sportsman of the Year: Charles Brittain
  & James Mitchell
- **Student Sportswoman of the Year:** Michaela Whitebooi
- Student Sports Club of the Year: TuksRowing
- Sports Club of the Year: TuksNetball
- Coach of the Year (Team Sports): Mpumi Geza
- Coach of the Year (Individual Sports): Rocco Meiring
- **Sports Personality of the Year** Shaun Anderson
- **Team of the Year Awards:** Assupol TuksCricket
- Principals Award for Exceptional Performance in Academics & Sport: Michaela Whitebooi
- Principal's Award for Outstanding Performance of a team representing University of Pretoria: Assupol TuksCricket
- Student Administrator of the Year: Charles Stevens (TuksRowing)
- Administrator of the Year: Tawnay Gierke (TuksVolleyball)



Student Sports Administrator of the Year: Charles Stevens (Rowing).



Administrator of the Year Award: Tawnay Gierke (Volleyball).



Student Sportswoman of the Year: Michaela Whitebooi (Judo).



Student Sportsman of the Year: Charles Brittain and James Mitchell (Rowing)



Coach of the Year – Team sport: Mpumi Geza (Rowing)



Coach of the Year – Individual sport: Rocco Meiring (Swimming).



Sports Team of the Year – Cricket



Sports Club of the Year – Netball



Principal award for exceptional performance: Michaela Whitebooi.